Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Witches of East End - By Melissa De La Cruz

Let me start by saying this is the first adult novel Melissa De La Cruz has written. Her usual genre is Young Adult that includes her famous series Blue Bloods. Witches of East End is nothing short of amazing. The way Melissa writes this story goes from one moment to the next with wonderful flow and finesse. The story line in itself was genius. Family of Three witches, Joanna, Freya and Ingrid and how stories are a journey for each of them. There is not one dull moment. Writing one seamless story following three different Characters is sometimes is hard to do but Melissa did this effortlessly. I felt like I was in the bar, in the library, on the boat all at the same time. I did not find it hard at all to keep track of the each character's story or the story of the book as it went along.  I highly recommend this book to everyone looking for an amazing read. For this review I will include part of the actual synopsis of the book. It is not written by me but I wanted to share it as I really think if you are on the fence about reading this book. Maybe including this will help you decide.

Part of the actual synopsis of the book below:

The three Beauchamp women--Joanna and her daughters Freya and Ingrid--live in North Hampton, out on the tip of Long Island. Their beautiful, mist-shrouded town seems almost stuck in time, and all three women lead seemingly quiet, uneventful existences. But they are harboring a mighty secret--they are powerful witches banned from using their magic. Joanna can resurrect people from the dead and heal the most serious of injuries. Ingrid, her bookish daughter, has the ability to predict the future and weave knots that can solve anything from infertility to infidelity. And finally, there's Freya, the wild child, who has a charm or a potion that can cure most any heartache.

http://www.melissa-delacruz.com/ 

Best Wishes
Melissa  G. :)

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Fated By: Alyson Noel 5 *****Stars

5 *****Stars If I could make the rating higher I would because it deserves that and more.

Strange things are happening to Daire Santos. Crows mock her, glowing people stalk her, time stops without warning, and a beautiful boy with unearthly blue eyes haunts all her dreams. Fearing for her daughter's sanity, Daire's mother sends her to live with the grandmother she's never met, but who recognizes the visions for what they truly are—the call to her destiny as a Soul Seeker—one who can navigate the worlds between the living and dead.
There on the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico, Daire sets out to harness the powers of her ancestral legacy, but it's when she meets Dace, the boy from her dreams, when things take an alarming turn. Forcing Daire to discover if Dace is the one guy she's meant to be with...or if he's allied with the enemy she's destined to destroy.



I'd have to say that this book like all her others by far past all my expectations. I completely lost my self in the pages of this book. I felt the anticipation grow as I started reading and as I got closer to the end of the book I didnt want it to end. I felt all the emotions Daires felt fear, anger, happiness, sadness, frustration and confusion. I loved every part of this book. Alyson never seems to amaze me with her amazing ability to write a book that keeps you wanting for more and a story that can grip you like no other can. Even though Daire is a seeker the things she generally goes through like the fights with her mom, the frustration with her grandma and the getting picked on at school are things that alot of teens today can relate to even the boyfriend problem is something that girls can relate to as well. There are so many sides to this story that there is nothing I can honestly say that will do this book justice because it truely is amazing story that I am anxiously waiting for the next book to come out in November. So if you are a fan of Alyson Noels books as I am, please read this because it is well worth the time. Also please check out Alyson Noels web page as well.

             With Best Wishes,
                   Brenda

http://www.alysonnoel.com
https://www.facebook.com/alyson.noel

Please also check out our facebook page
https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Star, Starland Vamp Series, Book 1 By: Theresa Oliver

*SPOILER ALERT*

 3 Stars ***

I have to say that this book suprised me in both good and bad ways. The bad are it has to many simularities to other vampire books such as there were way to many things that reminded me of Twilight like the no fangs her having venom and if she bites someone she has to turn them, that she doesnt need air to breath, that she lives off of animal blood and that she shimmers which is to close to sparkling like the vampires in Twilight does. I think using a book to write a book and using things in that book is not something you should do especially with it being a movie that is so big like Twilight but using it as a reference and to get ideas is alright. Honestly that is something that should never be done which of course is just my opinion. The good things is Star is very different but in a good way she is someone who never takes crap from anyone and if she doesnt like something she will tell you regardless if you like it or not and she is not someone you want to make mad because bein on her bad side is the wrong way to do even if she has sworn to protect the human species and even vampires should tread on water when around her. Even though there are alot of things I disliked about this book I did find that I was starting to enjoy this book it had action, romance and the book will keep you on your seat guessing about who you should and should not trust and you will find yourself worring about certain characters. I do recommend this book to all the vampire fanatics I think you will love this book but if you are a Twilight fan you may or may not like this book.


Synopsis:
Abigail Starland, better known as Star, is a kick-ass CIA agent. But what's different about her is she’s a shape shifter vamp—from the Revolutionary War era—in a covert new branch of the agency. According to the CIA, she doesn't exist. She fears nothing, that is, until she's assigned as bodyguard to Zachary Davis, the 18-year-old teenage son of her boss. They fall in love and the trouble begins. She soon discovers that "The Others," rogue, uncontrollable vamps, are after him. But who’s behind it? Star soon learns she's bitten off more than she can chew when she discovers that it’s a vamp from her past. "Star" will keep you guessing at every vamp turn of the page!

                                                            With Best Regards, Brenda

If you want to know more about Theresa Oliver and other books she has written you can view her page at.......

www.theresaoliver.com
www.writemorepublications.com
www.facebook.com/pages/theresa-oliver/222240647830818


Friday, June 8, 2012

Yuletide Mishaps - By A. L. Flagg ~ Review



   Rating - 3  Stars ***

  The title of this book definitely fits with the story. Mishaps is only the tip of the iceberg.  Abby owns a cafe in town, Ben has  a veterinarian business in town. See where I'm going with this? Yes, boy walk into girls place for lunch, instant attraction, they go on a date, classic romance builds and they can't fight off their feelings and one thing leads to another... Classic story. That is until Abby goes home for Christmas to spend with the family, her flighty, man eating flavor of the month, sister Lucy brings a date home to meet family. Guess who the man is?

  As soon as I started reading this book right down to finishing it. I couldn't help but think it sounds like a feel good holiday Christmas movie you would find on the lifetime channel. It is not a bad thing at all, just a story that you know right away what to expect from one moment to the next and how the story would end. For me, it was pretty predictable all the way through the book. You had romance, drama, deceit, family, holidays and more drama! Everything was answered, nothing was hanging in the balance. The story ended as it should.  I was left with a warm fuzzy feeling when I was done reading. It would make a good movie. It is a great romantic read for any age, even young adults. Superb writing by A. L. Flagg :)

        Best Wishes,
          Melissa

    Author Links:
       http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13244387-yuletide-mishaps
       https://www.facebook.com/authoramie.flagg
       http://www.amazon.com/Yuletide-Mishaps-ebook/dp/B006M9WN2G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339128547&sr=8-1

    Our Links:
       http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/
       https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Embrace - By Stacey Rourke ~ Review


   
        Rating - 5 Stars *****

        The story goes so much more in detail than the first book in the series but not TOO much as to overwhelm you. Just the perfect balance. Immediately you are thrown into the story and it is AMAZING! Celeste is having a hard time embracing her calling as The Conduit, The Chosen one. It is one demon attack after another and it is all business with Celeste as she is unable to let her guard down, be human for a change, Her brother Gabe and sister Keni are doing just fine with their romance and daily life if you will.  Celeste, not so much , that is until Caleb. Caleb, a fine piece of eye candy,  will have Celeste doing things, she can not control. It is the Conduit inside of her.  Can she trust Caleb, with not only her heart but her life. Trusts are formed and broken in this book. Rowan a demon sheds some insight into the dark army and forces at work. The dark army arises and a battle rages and everything Celeste, Gabe and Keni were called to do will be put to the test. The leader of the dark army will appear from the depths of darkness to kill the Conduit a.k.a The Chosen One.

This book is amazing! I was hooked from the very beginning. I wasn’t sure how good the second book in the gryphon series would be since sometimes books in a series lose or lack a continuing  or flowing story line. Embrace was action packed, filled with danger, demons, love, anger, trust issues, disappearances, all the parts a great book has. The way each and every Character had a special purpose, power, or like Grams! To keep everyone in check and be the teams biggest cheerleader. I can only say I am saddened by what happens to the spirit guide and the sacrifice that was imposed on Alaina. That was a shocker.  I was entranced and felt like I was really fighting the  battles with them, like I really knew the characters.    Start out reading the first one in the series called “The Conduit” and the read this book,, you will see how everything ties into one amazing story. I really feel connected to the story.  The comedy had me laughing as well. Stacey Rourke brought the whole package with in this book.  I would love for the story to continue into a 3rd book to tie up some loose ends that hasn’t been answered yet and for the great story of the chosen one to continue. I truly could go on and on and  describe the whole book, but I have to stop myself as I have to leave something for you to discover and take your own journey through the Gryphon Series.

     Best Wishes,
      Melissa

Author links:
   http://anchorgrouppublishing.com/Home_Page.html
   http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13594769-embrace

Our links:
  http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/
  https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview


Sunday, June 3, 2012

Tempting Fate By: A. N. Busch



Rating: 5 stars *****

There are many things I look for in a good book when I am writing a review, I look at the character's and how they mesh together in the story, the main story line, the synopsis and many other things as well and I have to say that this story had it all and much more. At first Tempting fate seemed to be long drawn out at least that is what I thought until I started chapter 4 and everything started coming together and unfolding right in front of my eyes. I understand why the first 3 chapters seemed like they were long, they were getting me ready for what was coming. And I have to say WOW ! What an amazing book.


Abby has a loving husband 3 wonderful kids and the job she always wanted, but as she goes to sleep every night she starts to dream of her college years and a handsome mysterious man that makes her feel like she has never felt in her life before. The dreams seem so real to Abby that she cant seem to shake them but everytime Abbys wakes up she is filled with guilt  because the man in her dreams is not her husband. When Abby comes face to face with fate who will she choose the family she knows and loves or the handsome mysterious man who seems to be more than just a dream.                                           

As I started reading further in to this story I found myself becoming engulfed in every word. I have to say that I laughed and cried throughout this book. This book truly pulled on my heart strings. I highly recommend this book to all the true romantics out there because A. N. Busch truly knows how to put a story together and keep a readers attention. I look forward to reading many more books from her in the very near future. I whole heartedly give her 5 well deserved stars.

        With Best Regards,
         Brenda

Author links:
  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13706393-tempting-fate
  https://www.facebook.com/A.N.Busch.Author

Our Links:
 http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/
 https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview

                                             

Friday, June 1, 2012

The Conduit - By Stacey Rourke ~ Review



  Review: 4 stars ****


The Conduit,

    Imagine your destiny is already chosen for you , your sister, and brother. Centuries ago, between a Gryphon and a human,  it was put into motion what was to be and if that wasn’t bad enough, the world depends on your survival. Facing battles with a demon from the underworld, in the wake of a mighty army headed your way, Hell bent on destroying your blood line.


 Celeste, Kendall and Gabe, are visiting their Grams for the summer. Looking to party, find romance, what every normal teenage/college kids want for their summer vacation. While Celeste was in the garage she came across and Gryphon statue, It pricks her and her blood drips on the statue.. Confirming the chosen ones , Protectors of the world.  Transformation process can be a challenge and hard to embrace. Celeste, Kendal, and Gabe each has their own unique ability which allows each of them super hero powers if you will.  Alaina is a spiritual guide that teach them and guide them on their journey to claim their destiny and prepares them for the Dark Army, demons, and a dragon rising from the ashes of the underworld.

I started reading and the story started out as just an average ordinary one. Three teenagers visiting Grams for the summer, finding a statue and powers bestowed and destiny fulfilled. I thought just another story. As I read on and read about the Gryphon ~ protector of the divine, and how it came to be that centuries ago, the Garrett bloodline became protectors of the world. After that, it was all over, I was hooked. I truly enjoyed this book. It has suspense, paranormal beings and powers and the comedy between the characters had me laughing.  This book goes into detail of each character being called upon , accepting their destiny and re-fining their skills. They hoped to do that before the Demon on a hunt rampage finds them, but it’s too late..  Are they ready for battle will they survive?  One very important thing Celeste CAN NOT DIE she is The Conduit. If she dies the world ends. There is so much more to the story, details, battles,  near death experiences, I could go on and on. Stacey Rourke has an ability that brings the story to life on paper and in your imagination.  The ending I will not give away of course, but I have read quite a few books that just didn’t end well or ended in an odd way. Not this book. The ending was well played and thought out, tied in with the whole book and flowed  naturally.

This is the first book in the Gryphon Series.. I look forward to reading the next one in the series for sure. Pick up this book, it is a great paranormal read in the Young Adult genre. I find myself thinking about the book, characters, basically the whole story is etched in my head, and that is the signs of a great book, when you are still invested in the story and it sticks with you even after you finished reading. What a talented author, Stacey Rourke is.

Best Wishes,
Melissa

Author Links:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12995248-the-conduit
http://www.amazon.com/The-Conduit-Gryphon-Series-Volume/dp/0985266325/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338595835&sr=8-1
http://anchorgrouppublishing.com/
http://www.staceyrourke.com/

our links:
https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview
http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/

Monday, May 28, 2012

Fat Chances - by J.S. Wilsoncroft ~ Review






Rating: 3 stars ***


Annie an overweight senior in high school, deals with her self esteem,  bullying,  thinking she is fat and looks ugly. Everyday struggles  she learns to live with.  Until one day , one Zumba class and one hot instructor named Cory, it all changes for her.  Cory is amazed by her beauty, inside and out. Cory shows Annie she is worthy of love and takes her on a journey to self discovery.  I wont give away the whole story as always, that is for you, the reader to discover.

This book promotes building self esteem in big girls and shows them that they are still beautiful inside and out and deserve to be loved.  J.S. Wilsoncroft, did not sugar coat the story when it comes to certain scenes in the book, she lays it out straight and tackles the everyday problems head on. Even though this book wasn’t really for me, pick this book up and read this story as everyday teen issues do exist, sex in high school does exist  and you never know, you might be able to help someone who deals with the same issues as Annie.


Links:
https://www.facebook.com/loveisdeaf72 
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Write-More-Publications/328324847212568
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13628970-fat-chances


Our Links:
http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/ 
https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview 


Best Wishes,
 Melissa

Sunday, May 27, 2012

The Brown House - By Christy Sloat ~ Review



Rating: 5 stars! *****


Brylee is in high school, typical cali-girl with blonde hair, looks to match and soon learns she  has a special gift for seeing things no one else can, she would soon find out to what extent this gift bears on her and the ones she loves. Her father lost his job so the whole family up and moved to New Jersey for his new job, They moved into the brown house, Haunted brown house , curse, love, death, sacrifice, mystery, even the story Ephraim and Brylee was truly well written and just feel good true love but will it stay that way.  This Book has twists, turns, surprises, heart break and more.  All the Characters. Lyn , Kayla,  and the Brown and Mayhew families. The way Brylee comes face to face with “others” living in the house she just moved into is spooky. I am sorry but if I faced just a part of what Brylee faced in order to solve a mystery of her haunted  house. I would be out of there when the ghost eyes appeared in the bath tub , just above the water. While Brylee was in it! So? Do I have you intrigued yet?  The locked door, never to be opened, for years and years everyone tried to open the door. One special key hidden away , never to be found. If the door was locked for a reason,  forever to be kept inside.  Until one day..  One key, a family curse,  and a journey you would not expect. The ending was … well to the readers of this review. The Brown House is a MUST READ.

I truly don’t want to give  away too much, but Christy Sloat completely knocked one out of the park with her writing, the story line, the whole idea was just amazing.  I could not put it down, read it in three days!

It was my pleasure to be taken on a journey I did not expect..

Here are a few links for more information on The Brown House and Christy Sloat:
http://anchorgrouppublishing.com/Our_Books.html
https://www.facebook.com/christysloatauthor
 http://christysloat.blogspot.com/


Our Links:
http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview



Best Wishes,
Melissa


The Lure of the Shapinsay By: Krista Holle


Rating: 5 Stars *****

**AMAZING READ**
As soon as I started this book I was hooked from the very first line. This book seemed to have everything a book should have and the further I read it became apparently clear that it had more. I really enjoyed this book for so many reasons. The legend of the Selkies is a very old legend, it is said that that Selkies live as seals in the sea and humans on land. Krista really made this legend come to life in The Lure of the Shapinsay, and in the process added her own unique perspective to a very old and beautiful tale. As I began reading this book I noticed I started to feel connected to the characters and a strong kinship towards them. Kait is hard headed, very strong minded and pretty much does as she pleases whether anyone likes it or not and I can honestly relate to that in more ways than one. It seems Kait has fallen under the lure that selkies have. For some reason Selkie men can drive human women to do pretty much anything they want even to their deaths but Kait cant seem to shake the feeling she has for this Gorgeous Selkie man while her brother thinks she has gone mad. Is it the lure or is he her one truelove.

If you love a good love story then this is the book for you, I have read many books and this is not like any I have read. Krista really knows how to capture a readers attention and keep it. I am truely looking forward to more books from this Author. If you want to know more Please check out this amazing Author Krista Holle.
                                                            
                                            With Best Wishes, Brenda

http://www.kristaholle.com/

http://twitter.com/kristaholle

http://kristaholle.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/krista.g.holle

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-lure-of-shapinsay-krista-holle/1108011973

Please also check out our pages as well.

http://twowomenandabookreview.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/TwoWomenandaBookReview


Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Devastation by Shandy L Kurth ~ Review


Rating: 4 stars! ****

Imagine a world where all your rights were taken away. I mean EVERYTHING. Houses, streets, towns, leveled by bombs. Ghost towns, lack of food, water, sort of like a modern day invasion apocalyptic style. Invaded by an unsuspecting country, forced to denounce everything you've ever known, for the "New Government" or face certain death. Fallon, Sandi, Emery, Conner, Desiree and Guy. Their stories enter twined with each others, all headed south to the US Army to be FREE. There is one heart stopping moment very time you turn a page. You were right there in the action, feeling the pain, heartbreak, suffering, ultimate Devastation. What were they survivors willing to do to stay alive, you will have to read this book to find out.

Though it is not normally my style of book, I always keep an open mind when reading as you never know where the story takes you. Devastation definitely had no lack of story line as it kept me on my toes from cover to cover. The way the stories of the Characters paths crossed, the journey they took through the whole book was amazing. It was just the right amount of information, to keep you guessing and wondering what next?!

In closing: Shandy L Kurth did a excellent job writing Devastation. It is the first book in the Built on Fear Series. I am looking forward to the next installment in this series. I was glad we got a chance to read and write a review! I have included the link to the Authors page.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Shandy-L-Kurth/112882395460694

Best Wishes
Melissa